2012 Conference

Keynote Talks

Dr. Rex Jung
The Neuroscience of Creativity (Presentation)
Brain Scans of Rappers Shed Light on Creativity (Dr. Jung referenced this study in his talk)

Professor Garfield Gini-Newman
Critical, Creative and Collaborative Inquiry for the 21st Century
Nurturing Creativity in 21st Century Learners

Dean Marvin Malecha and Alberto Rigau
Design Thinking and the Creative Process (Rigau)

Presentations and Workshop Sessions

Using Audio Recording in Exploring the Creative Process
Donna Eason donna_eason@caryacademy.org
Vocaroo (Free online voice recording tool)

Khan Academy: A Creative Paradigm Shift in Teaching Math
Sue Tombes sue_tombes@caryacademy.org
Khan Academy

Creating Connections: The Art and Science of Teaching Words
Ragav Satish ragav@membean.com
Micah Elliot
Membean
Educator Video

Science and Silly Putty: Original and Individual Sixth Grade Experiments
Eric Himburg eric_himburg@caryacademy.org
Presentation

How Do We Assess Creativity?
Michael Hayes michael_hayes@caryacademy.org
Per Rosenbaum per286@gmail.com

Creating Smarter Teaching Strategies
Carole Hamilton carole_hamilton@caryacademy.org

Project Re-Runway: An Artistic Approach to the Creative Process
Kay Parks kay_parks@caryacademy.org
Margo Smith margo_smith@caryacademy.org

Going Beyond the Science Classroom: Empowering Students to Create Novel Course Content
Heidi Maloy heidi_maloy@caryacademy.org

The Senior English Capstone Project: Inspiring Independent Creative Work
German Urioste german_urioste@caryacademy.org
Michael Hayes michael_hayes@caryacademy.org
Palmer Seeley palmer_seeley@caryacademy.org
Capstone Pitch, Proposals, and Sample Student Work

Robots as a Physics Apparatus: Creating Free Exploration Within Limits
Dr. Matt Greenwolfe matt_greenwolfe@caryacademy.org
A Physics Microcosm Blog

Creative Tools for Counseling Students of All Ages
Marcia Rogat mrogat@earthlink.net

Creative Teaching: The Student Point of View
Robert Coven robert_coven@caryacademy.org
Shifting the Education Paradigm (STEP)
STEP Presentations
A Digital View of History: Drawing and Discussing Models of Historical Concepts
Modeling in the Humanities Blog

Fostering Creative Analysis through the Visual
Kara Caccuitto kara_caccuitto@caryacademy.org
Robin Follet robin_follet@caryacademy.org
Macbeth Project
Graphic Short Story Template
Song/Rap about Macbeth's Downfall: Written and performed by Murad Mansour, Grant Goettel, and Ilan Szulik (Sample Student Work)

Improvising Jazz - Creating and Performing Simultaneously
Eric Grush eric_grush@caryacademy.org
Recording of Jazz Combo performance 1
Recording of Jazz Combo performance 2 (Blues)

Discovery Term at Cary Academy
Palmer Seeley palmer_seeley@caryacademy.org
Michael Gibson michael_gibson@caryacademy.org

Enhancing Teen's Creativity Through Mindfulness Instruction
Ellen Gooding ellen_gooding@caryacademy.org


TED Talk: Ken Robinson Says Schools Kill Creativity

Viewpoints

"Problems cannot be solved by the same level of thinking that created them."

- Albert Einstein

"The imagination imitates. It is the critical spirit that creates."

- Oscar Wilde

"Creative minds always have been known to survive any kind of bad training."

- Anna Freud

Featured Articles

The Creativity Crisis

Drawing

By PO BRONSON and ASHLEY MERRYMAN
Published: July 10, 2010


For the first time, research shows that American creativity is declining. What went wrong -- and how we can fix it.

Back in 1958, Ted Schwarzrock was an 8-year-old third grader when he became one of the “Torrance kids,” a group of nearly 400 Minneapolis children who completed a series of creativity tasks newly designed by professor E. Paul Torrance. Schwarzrock still vividly remembers the moment when a psychologist handed him a fire truck and asked, “How could you improve this toy to make it better and more fun to play with?” He recalls the psychologist being excited by his answers. In fact, the psychologist’s session notes indicate Schwarzrock rattled off 25 improvements, such as adding a removable ladder and springs to the wheels. That wasn’t the only time he impressed the scholars, who judged Schwarzrock to have “unusual visual perspective” and “an ability to synthesize diverse elements into meaningful products.”

continue reading

Teaching Creativity, 2: Debunking the Mozart MythMozart

By By MICHELE and ROBERT ROOT-BERNSTEIN
Myths about creativity can kill it!


In the 1980s, we taught a class on creative process at UCLA. Much to our dismay, many of our students accepted certain myths about creative invention that misled and demoralized them. The same myths cripple people in all walks of life. Debunking those myths can unleash creativity overnight, as the experience of one young man in our class testifies.

This young man - call him Sam - took our class to "rediscover" his creativity. In his first year of college he had written a chart-topping rock song for a well-known band. But in the attempt to come up with an encore, he found himself suffering from a profound case of composer's block. He wanted us to remove it.

continue reading